Posted by: pascoesabido | November 25, 2008

PSA Award Winners 2008 Press Release – General

University of Newcastle, Newcastle Upon Tyne NE1 7RU

News from the PSA

Embargo: Midday

25th November 2008

It’s not Gordon’s year as Boris, Vince and Frank receive key Political Awards

This year’s annual Political Studies Association Awards have gone to London Mayor Boris Johnson (Politician of the Year), the Liberal Democrat Shadow Chancellor Vince Cable (Parliamentarian of the Year) and Labour MP Frank Field (Backbencher of the Year), none of whom have made this year easy for Mr Brown. Her Majesty’s Chief Inspector of Prisons Anne Owers was another winner noted for standing up to the Government – she received the award for ‘Setting the Political Agenda’.

Steve Richards of The Independent was named Political Journalist of the Year, while the Political Editor of Channel 4 News, Gary Gibbon, was named Political Broadcaster of the Year. The PSA Judges’ award went to BBC political documentary maker Michael Cockerell.

The seven-person judging panel made their decisions based on nominations received from the PSA’s 1750 Politics professors, lecturers and researchers. This year Dr Katharine Adeney of Sheffield University chaired the judges panel, which consisted of academics, politicians and journalists. In making the awards, the judges noted the following:

Politician of the Year – BORIS JOHNSON

“Boris Johnson scored a famous victory in the 2008 contest for London Mayor. Taking on a formidable opponent in Ken Livingstone, he ran a remarkable campaign which mobilised the electorate, reflected in a high turnout. Boris Johnson infused the contest with a series of imaginative ideas (a point conceded by his main opponent); ran a campaign based on positive politics rather than negative or personal slurs and returned lots of 1997-2005 Conservative ‘deserters’ to the party.”

Parliamentarian of the year – VINCE CABLE

“His observation that “The House has noticed the Prime Minister’s remarkable transformation in the past few weeks from Stalin to Mr Bean” was one of the most hilarious moments witnessed in parliament; witty, biting and a potent mix of the absurd but true. As Simon Hoggart wrote in the Guardian, “A great howl of laughter seemed to fall from the very ceiling”. Additionally, the judges noted his sharp and incisive criticisms of the government’s handling of the Northern Rock crisis, and his overall highly effective performances as acting Liberal Democrat leader prior to the election of Nick Clegg.”

Backbencher of the Year – FRANK FIELD

“Frank Field was deemed Backbencher of the Year by the judges following his persistent and intelligent pressuring of his own government to address the problem created by the abolition of the 10 pence tax rate. Consistent with his broader efforts to assist the low-paid, Frank Field’s demands for compensatory government action proved successful; a fine example of how sensible, forceful backbench campaigning can make a significant difference to government policy.”

In awarding Anne Owers for Setting the Political Agenda, the judges noted that “her opposition to the continuous building of prisons and increases in the prison population may not be populist, but is always based on reasoned, constructive argument and strong principle. Her opposition to ‘titan’ prisons has been an important contribution to an ongoing debate.”

Steve Richards‘ columns in the Independent were praised for their “proper, fair-minded analysis of the problems created by – and afflicting – Gordon Brown, offering refreshingly insightful reading amid the mass of superficial writing on the subject.” Gary Gibbon‘s contributions to Channel 4 News were noted for being “of such consistently high quality.  The broadcasters on the judging panel spoke of Gary Gibbon’s determination to cover stories with a depth and precision not always apparent on inferior news programmes.”

The wealth of documentaries produced by Michael Cockerell were praised for “containing the mass of substance and insight necessary to interest regular politics watchers, whilst also being sufficiently fascinating to bring in a much broader audience of viewers.”

There was also widespread recognition for Britain’s academics, with Tony Travers (Political Studies Communication Award), Professor Vernon Bogdanor (Sir Isaiah Berlin Prize for Lifetime Contribution to Political Studies), Professor the Lord Norton (Special Recognition), and Professor Anne Phillips (Special Recognition) all wining awards.

The lunchtime event, hosted by the Today programme’s Jim Naughtie, also heard that PSA members had, in an Ipsos/Mori poll, judged President Franklin Roosevelt as overwhelmingly the best post-war President. However, since FDR only squeezed into the reckoning by a matter of months much attention was focussed on second, third and fourth place which were judged to be Bill Clinton, John Kennedy and Harry S. Truman, respectively. In joint last place were George W. Bush and Gerald Ford.


Notes to editors:

The Political Studies Association (PSA) is the leading organisation in the UK dedicated to developing and promoting the study of politics. For further information please contact Ivor Gaber on ivorgaber[at] or 07730 955690 or Pascoe Sabido on pascoe.sabido[at] or 07969665189. Visit the PSA website at


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: